Music for 5/23/24!!! Shannon and the Clams

@@@ Shannon and the Clams: The Moon is in the Wrong Place (Easy Eye/Concord, 2024) I’ve had records by this outfit on my best of year lists so that earns an automatic peep for this record. They in the past have lived up to what I consider the real spirit of indie rock which unapologetically weird rock music. They continue to rock an off kilter rock flow, not particularly hard or soft, they don’t rock super hard but they do a Cali soft right thing at all. These guys are clearly a seasoned outfit, they have great cohesiveness as a band and their skill level is much higher than yer normal indie rock band. I like the singer, I like the playing, I’m not sure I’m super pumped by the tunes themselves. There are passages that I think are really ear catching and parts I like less. I give it a B+ and some other folks out there might really really like it.

Leave a comment