Music for 6/13/21!!! Nkom Bivoue

@@@ Nkom Bivoue: Zeun Ya Yop (Rebel Up, 2021) I’m on the mailing list for this small UK world music label and they just released this dancefloor banger by a producer out of Cameroon. As you would expect the rhythms are superior (not hard!) to standard mainstream dancefloor bangers with the first tune Alert relying on your classic arpeggiated synth tones and big rush fills. The second track of this three track single (clipped below) is less cheesy on the synth tip and rhythmically hipper. Kinda hypnotic with drum machine taps. I like it better than the first track but I’m not super into the chosen synth sounds and the tunes feel like they could be fleshed out a bit more. I love African electronic music, it really works for me but this one is off the mark a tiny bit.

Leave a comment