Music for 7/24/17!!! Vera Blue, Meklit, Ritual, Shania Twain

@@@ Vera Blue: Perennial (Island Records Australia, 2017)  Some Kate Bush-y epic electronica/adult alternative off the music blog Indiepulse.  The sounds here are a piquant stew of mainstream pop/electronica and New Age with a lot of modern sounding synths, a little schmattering of acoustic guitars and plenty of multitrack vocals.  All this slathered over just the right amount of funky for housewives drum machine beats.  I’m not a buyer, it panders.  I tried to find a lyric video as that’s my favorite thing but I couldn’t find one.  And that will be your loss, not to see these lyrics unfold on the video, the tears streaming down your face as you realize yes, I need to be brave, yes! I need to do more self care, and yes! I will love again!!!!

@@@ Meklit: When the People Move the Music Moves too (Six Degrees, 2017) World music off this week’s WRIR playlist chart email.  It’s a mash of African sounds, some American black music and adult alternative sounds.  It’s uplifting for sure.  Ah, I’m not super low IQ — I went to get a video and I see Meklit is an Ethiopian-American so that explains the blend.  As the first tune unfolds it has some nice muscle to it so it’s uplifting but it’s not soft, a combination I don’t really love.  The production is strong and the horn section is happening.  The lyrics are not to my taste but I’m very finicky.  She has really mashed American music with African music here.  Check her out.

@@@ Ritual: In This Moment (Atlantic, 2017)  Metal off the Apple Music new release section.  The first tune is opening up like a Hollywood soundtrack — epic with huge tom rolls, chants, and a rising guitar squall.  In an odd turn of events the second track gets into a blues vocal with thunderous arena rock production.  Yikes!  I guess that’s what this record is going to be as the third tune keeps those blues inflected vocals, though a dude steps in and they start rocking.  I can’t really get with this music, it’s not a blend of sounds I can get with.  It’s just too shiny and epic and shall we say a tad cheesy for my taste.  There are a bunch of covers of songs here that I don’t think needed to be covered.

@@@ Shania Twian: Poor Me (Mercury Nashville, 2017)  A pre release mainstream country single off the Apple Music hot tracks section.  It is breathtaking how far stretched country music has gotten.  I can’t find a single country music element in this tune — not a twanghy guitar, no pickup truck lyrical references.  Ms. Twain is a big star, she doesn’t have to do country music and it’s just an observation.  I neither hate the tune nor love it, it just sorta passes through and is over.

YTD recordings listened to: 481
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 262
Not good music: 197

Buys: 7
Honorable Mentions: 6

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Moken, Juan Atkins, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, A Tribe Called Quest, Noname, Gouge Away, Anna Hogberg, Klara Lewis, Krullur, The Lowest Form, Hard Proof, James Brandon Lewis, Yotoco, Jungle Fire, Sandoz, J.I.D., Oddisee, Forro in the Dark, RAM, Fiver, Dona Onete, Succumb Succumb, Gloom, Priests, Propaganda, This is the Kit, Roberto Gonzalez, Integrity

Leave a Reply

