2017 Honorable Mention Pick 5

Reverend Peyton: Front Porch Sessions (Family Owned Records, 2017)

I really loved Reverend Peyton’s last record, the rocking So Delicious but this almost solo record is growing on me.

I spend a lot of time saying this singer is not working for me, I don’t like their vibe, the delivery, etc but Reverend Peyton has a strange, somewhat nerdy voice but I dig it.  I can see how it might annoy others but I dig its uniqueness, it’s not rational.

It’s just Peyton and his guitar on this set.  He has multitracked the guitars so it’s not one guitar accompanying his voice.  His guitar playing is not super flashy but he’s got skills — he can outduel Taylor Swift on the guitar.

If you dig the blues and you dig his voice then I’ve hooked you up, but if you don’t feel his tone and delivery well…this might not be for you.

 

Leave a Reply

