Music for 6/27/17!!! Melis, Vasser, Larkins, KINDER

Today we are back on this Best of Line Fit 25 hot tracks of the week.  I find the indie music to be culturally/philosophically fascinating as it is a projection of white folks’ psychology but this genre is not a place where I find a lot of good music.  I don’t wish to be a black person but I have more than my share of problems with whiteness and all the shit that goes with that.  On to the listening!

@@@ Melis: Flower (Virtuous Sound, 2017)  This indie folk tune opens up super intimate with a fragile female voice and a simple figure behind it.  It is sad and hopeful at the same time.   After about 90 seconds it opens up into a larger sound with an electronic beat, background vocals, electric organ.  I find the lyrics a tad confusing — I heard one line saying ‘everything I need from you is everything I see in you’.  Now we’re building to the full New Age catharsis.  Even though this tune is saturated with feelings there are repeated entreaties to not think about it.  What is this it I’m not supposed to think about?  Is it that the lyrics don’t make sense to me and don’t think about it???#sarcasm.  Confusion is an under discussed aspect of these large indie tunes — I just finished listening and I’m not sure at all what that was about though those were some big ass meaningful sounds.

@@@ Vasser: Little Things (Vasser, 2017)  An updated Peter Gabriel/Kate Bush world rock kinda sound.  The singer enters and he’s feeling a lot as well.  What are we to do with all these feelings?  I like the bass sound, and the beats are all right and though this isn’t my favorite sonic formula there’s some sophistication to it.  The singer, hmm, he’s not bad but he’s not my cup of tea.  I’m finishing up this tune and it’s similar to the first — a lot of focus on the sound and not much on the meaning.  Either I’m supposed to dig through the lyrics and figure it out, or I’m supposed to groove on the sounds and the tone of his voice, or it was supposed to say something and didn’t do a good job of it.  Or I’m stupid and that’s been accepted at the outset.

@@@ Larkins: Sugar Sweet (Mark Lippman, 2017)  The GoogleTubePimp calls this tune sun soaked.  And if you see the title of the tune on the video below this is an uplifter, a bra for the tits of your mind.  It’s a big rock drumbeat with some cutesy guitar playing that goes to half crunch in the chorus.  How was I to know you were in my veins?  How was I to know that we could be more than friends?  Yes, it’s veins.  So he’s celebrating having a romantic relationship with somebody who was previously just a friend.  Okay, big props because the lyrics make sense and I get it.  Whew!  Now he’s rocking a friendly big rock formula that isn’t my cup of tea but it might be yours and I’m just happy I listened to a song that made sense to me.

@@@ KINDER: Feeling Gets Too Heavy (Lapsang House, 2017)  A slow electro-banger of an upcoming yet to be released record.  From the sounds I thought this was gonna be a romantic kinda track but it’s got negative feelings in it.   Now he’s in a groove where he keeps saying ‘it’s your light that keeps me going’.    So maybe in the first half of the tune he’s got a lot of heavy feelings and then he kinda moves on to the place where he feels better about his relationship and this other person’s light is awesome and shit.  Again, a lot of feelings, I get that, and I think have some idea of what this tune might be about but I’m not going to the bank on it.  He’s got some Prince falsetto going here and some plinky chorused guitar (which I don’t love) and sonically it’s neither a rocker nor a club banger — it’s a slow quiet storm (of feelings).  Feelings, oh Lord the feelings!

YTD recordings listened to: 404
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 225
Not good music: 160

Buys: 6
Honorable Mentions: 4

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Moken, Juan Atkins, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, A Tribe Called Quest, Noname, Gouge Away, Anna Hogberg, Klara Lewis, Krullur, The Lowest Form, Hard Proof, James Brandon Lewis, Yotoco, Jungle Fire, Sandoz, Power Trip, Reverend Payton, J.I.D., Oddisee, Forro in the Dark, RAM, Fiver, Dona Onete, Succumb Succumb, Gloom, Dead Ranch

Leave a Reply

