Music for 6/24/17!!! China Gate, Sammy Brue, Fallout Boy

@@@ China Gate: Good Grief EP (Pizza Tape, 2017)  A super poppy indie rock EP that I got to via a music publicist email.  There are many bands these guys sound like but I can’t pull anything off my hard drive at this point.  It’s mad poppy, like the Friends theme poppy.  Ah, the second tune (which will probably be my last listen) is triggering some Cure feelings.  I know you’re all cringing and saying hey the Cure were a bunch of mopes but they were poppy mopes and these guys have dispensed with the mope and gone straight to the big punch bowl of awesome feelings, shoved their faces in there and blew bubbles.

@@@ Sammy Brue: I’m Nice (New West, 2017)  A nerdy female alt-country record I got to via last week’s All Music notable release email.  I’m calling her nerdy by virtue of the glasses she’s wearing on the cover of the record.  I like her voice on the opener here, it’s pleasantly odd.  It’s not her voice as much as her phrasing.  Oh boy, I think this might be a gent with long hair, well it really doesn’t matter does it?  Male female, nobody’s hung up on that ’round here!  The second tune is a super old school r&b tearjerker, I like Sammy whether the junk is external or a clam!  I had to DuckDuckGo HIS bio and find that he’s a 15 year old male.  Many 15 year old young men have a certain feminine flow.  I realize I’m not talking about the music but the music is all right — he’s jumping around a bit in terms of the arrangements but I do dig his voice.

@@@ Fallout Boy: Young and Menace (UMG, 2017) I fucking love Fallout Boy — the most earnest and heartfelt rock band ever.  When this tune kicks in full on, it’s a 50 car wreck shit biscuit.  I would liken it to Red Bull infused spray cheese.  It’s just energy and sound signifying nothing more than the desire to momentarily distract the monkeys and pull them away from their screens for a moment and then drop them back into their lives of Red Bull and cheese.  I urge folks not to listen to this tune, it’s straight awful and only useful at Guantanamo Bay.

YTD recordings listened to: 396
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 221
Not good music: 156

Buys: 6
Honorable Mentions: 4

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Moken, Juan Atkins, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, A Tribe Called Quest, Noname, Gouge Away, Anna Hogberg, Klara Lewis, Krullur, The Lowest Form, Hard Proof, James Brandon Lewis, Yotoco, Jungle Fire, Sandoz, Power Trip, Reverend Payton, J.I.D., Oddisee, Forro in the Dark, RAM, Fiver, Dona Onete, Succumb Succumb, Gloom, Dead Ranch

Leave a Reply

