Music for 6/12/17!!! Afoul D’afours, El Dusty, Bang Data

@@@ Afous D’afous: Tarhanine Tegla (Sahel Sounds, 2016)  This is my third listen of the day but I’m popping it up the top as I dig it most of what I heard.  It’s a mash of dirty single line West African guitar playing and this is quite a shred.  It’s interesting to hear a fairly strong Bollywood flavor to the vocals so it doesn’t come across as strictly a West African jam.  Let me GooglePimp this outfit and see where they are from.  I don’t want to be peddling fake news!  Okay, Algeria so I got that right.  The B side is more electronic with a sinuous synth melody replacing the rock guitar shred.  It’s more of an uplifter than a rocker.

@@@ El Dusty: Kanto Negro (Aftercluv, 2017)  A world music single I got to via this week’s WRIR weekly playlist email.  It’s a blend of EDM, Latin bass, party music and some hip hop.  I like the accordion playing which really Mexican-izes the funky proceedings.  I guess it’s the frat boy beats that make me like it less but a few cheap beers and it will slide right through the pie holes.  It’s compressed as hell which tends to lower my enjoyment.

@@@ Bang Data: Galactica (Futuro Sonico, 2017)  Another single, but a rock tune this time.  Two singers working in Spanish and they somewhat dominate the tune.  Not in a bad way.  There’s some B-52s style rockabilly guitar slipped into the back of the track and if you don’t like the vocals you won’t like the tune.  It’s a bit of a world prog tune.  In my quest for a link to peep this track I see these guys are straight out of the Bay area which would go a long way in explaining the mash of sounds on this tune.

You can stream it over here, but I’m not sure for how long.

YTD recordings listened to: 355
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 202
Not good music: 138

Buys: 5
Honorable Mentions: 2

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Moken, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, A Tribe Called Quest, Noname, Gouge Away, Anna Hogberg, Klara Lewis, Aethenor, Krullur, The Lowest Form, Hard Proof, James Brandon Lewis, Yotoco, Jungle Fire, Sandoz, Power Trip, Reverend Payton, J.I.D., Oddisee, Forro in the Dark, RAM, Oumou Sangare, Fiver, Dona Onete, Succumb Succumb

Leave a Reply

