Music for 6/8/17!!! Arcade Fire, Pumarosa, Joseph of Mercury, The War on Drugs

@@@ Arcade Fire: Everything Now (Sony, 2017)  I’ve always felt Arcade Fire is a huge band for nerds and geeks and they’re overrated to boot.  This single is an updated Roxy music romantic, 80s soft rock sound for today’s avocado toast eating bitches.  This one comes complete with a string arrangement and a flute ditty halfway through.  It’s definitely about pretty isolation and as I haven’t lived in the suburbs for a long ass time this doesn’t apply to me.  It’s not an awful tune but I continue with my overrated view.

@@@ Pumarosa: The Witch (Universal Music, 2017)  I’m on an indie playlist on the Apple Music and the question Imma asking myself is how these indie folks got so far up their own asses.  You would think this playlist is the musical equivalent of Moses bringing down the tablets from heaven.  This one opens up with the long piano chords and a dramatical female singer and a drone.  Ah, here’s the full band with an electric guitar and an art rock mope.  I’d like some PJ Harvey freakout — at least she has the decency to get her undies in a bunch.  They’re starting to build some sonic pressure now but I fear it’s too late for me.  You can see from below that the singer is a bit of a hottie so that explains some of the appeal here.

@@@ Joseph of Mercury: Find You Inside (Hear the Art, 2017)  Continuing our indie playlist which should be called ‘When did white folks turn into such soft ass pusses?’  Mr. Joseph is a bit mopey and a bit loverboy and he’s got a medium to soft funk arrangement serving as a basket for his big juicy feelings.  I’m sure he’s an awesome person; it’s just that I want to hit him in the back of head with a shovel.  Not a killing blow mind you.  I’m opposed to this level of feelings sharing.  He’s gonna find you inside?  He’s getting a bit too syrupy for my taste as the song unwinds.  Now this is just my opinion and I’m a mentally troubled person — we all know this as soon as you click open me blog. ‘Life is like a golden curtain, you just keep me waiting’.  Something to think about that’s for sure.

@@@ The War on Drugs: Holding On (Atlantic, 2017)  Imma gonna extend my listening as this is what is called good times.  I’ve heard of the War on Drugs — not the business created by Uncle Sam but the band.  We have in front of us a nice friendly indie bouncer with a slightly ragged vocalist.  A little Dylan vibe to the singing.  The question here is whether in the time of the Trump people want a bouncer or if they want some empathetic sour shit?  Myself, the latter, I want my reality straight.  Somebody get this drummer a drum fill!  This tune reminds me of some old Tom Petty straight rock but with a little bit of synth action the kids today love so much.  I’m bothered most by the tinkly percussion which irrationally irks me.  It’s too cute.

YTD recordings listened to: 350
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 199
Not good music: 136

Buys: 5
Honorable Mentions: 2

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Moken, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, A Tribe Called Quest, Noname, Gouge Away, Anna Hogberg, Klara Lewis, Aethenor, Krullur, The Lowest Form, Hard Proof, James Brandon Lewis, Yotoco, Jungle Fire, Sandoz, Power Trip, Reverend Payton, J.I.D., Oddisee, Forro in the Dark, RAM, Oumou Sangare, Fiver, Dona Onete, Succumb Succumb

Leave a Reply

