Music for 4/21/17!!! Black Bear, Imelda May, Charly Puppy

@@@ Black Bear: digital drug lord (Bertram, 2017)  R&B/soul off the Apple Music new music section.  This first tune has provocative lyrics and solo piano accompaniment.  The second song brings some beats and low end and I like it more.  It’s not peeling my face off but it’s good.  His strength is the rawness of the lyrics.  I’m not sure if Black Bear is a white boy, but he kinda sounds it.  He’s doing a pale Drake thing mixing singing and hip hop, it’s all right.

@@@ Imelda May: Live Life Flesh Blood (Decca/Universal, 2017)  Off this week’s All Music notable release email and I’m peeping it because it’s produced by T Bone Burnett and he’s got skills.  The first tune is mad mellow, lonesome and comforting at the same time.  The second tune brings a mellow drumbeat but the focus remains on the guitar playing and the singing.  I like it but I think I might prefer Emmylou Harris’ records done in the same vein.  This is just a tad too polished and sleepy time tea to make it to my stereo.

@@@ Charly Bliss: Guppy (Barsuk, 2017)  Some power pop/punk in the Superdrag vein.    My main beef with most indie guitar rock is how fucking butter soft most of it is.  I don’t need to be bludgeoned like a metal record but I need a little muscle.  So these guys rock a bit and they have a strange female voice out front and it makes for an interesting contrast. I don’t like this second tune as much as the opener.  I’m liking this record less as it plays more but I really like the first tune.  It’s clipped below, that’s how much I care.  I give I give I give and all you guys do is take.

YTD recordings listened to: 259
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 142
Not good music: 95

Buys: 5
Honorable Mentions: 1

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, Zomby, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Moken, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, A Tribe Called Quest, Noname, Gouge Away, Anna Hogberg, Klara Lewis, Aethenor, Krullur, The Lowest Form, Hard Proof, James Brandon Lewis, Yotoco, Jungle Fire, Sandoz, Power Trip, Reverend Payton, J.I.D., Oddisee

Leave a Reply

