Music for 4/1/17!!! Anathema, Tim Darcy

@@@ Anathema: Springfield (Snapper, 2017) Some polished arena rock I got to via the music blog Indiepulse.  I guess this is this band’s 11th record and I never have heard of them.  They’re rocking a Talking Heads sentiment — how did I get here? over and over.  the answer is fuck if I know.  After a somewhat lengthy ambient opening section they get into a proggy shred, which is not a Thai dish.  Wow, this is a big fat slapping dual guitar attack, I’m not sure I deserve this.  I guess they’re really quite passionate about how they did or did not get here.  It’s a tad vague and New Age for me to get my head around this big rock chunklet.

@@@ Tim Darcy: Saturday Night (Jagjaguwar, 2017)  Some old school nerd punk stylings off this week’s CFUV weekly playlist email.  This is off the Jiggedy Jagjaguwar imprint which I threw in there because I like the two words Jiggedy Jagjaguwar.  This music is firmly in the Velvet Underground slack rock tradition with a tad more bash to it.  The Velvets were, you know, stoned out of their gourds.  This is not my favorite branch of the rock ‘n roll tree but this guy does it all right.

YTD recordings listened to: 214
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 113
Not good music: 81

Buys: 1
Honorable Mentions: 1

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, Zomby, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Divanhana, Moken, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, A Tribe Called Quest, Noname, Gouge Away, Anna Hogberg, Klara Lewis, Aethenor, Krullur, The Lowest Form, Hard Proof, James Brandon Lewis, Yotoco, Tinariwen, Jungle Fire, Sandoz, Power Trip, Reverend Payton, J.I.D., Oddisee, Feral Ohms, Orquestra Baobab

Leave a Reply

