Music for 3/13/17!!! Mexican Dubwiser, Ememl Mathlouthi, Frank Ocean

@@@ Mexican Dubwiser: Broder Frequency (Kin Kon Records, 2017)  A funky electro Mexican record off this week’s WRIR weekly email.  Not all lyrics are in Spanish as it bounces back and forth between Spanish and English.  The beats are medium funky, the arrangements are centered around synth hooks, and there are a bunch of guest vocalists which some people like to get more flavors.  I prefer fewer rather than more but that’s me.

@@@ Emel Mathlouthi: Ensen (Partisan, 2017)  Also off this week’s WRIR playlist email. Strongly Arab inflected electronica fronted by a woman.  Sinuous melodies, pretty sparse but not minimalist arrangements.  I’m feeling this third tune, Layem, as it’s got a really nice string part but I was not able to attach it for your sampling pleasure.  I tried!  Overall the production and the tunes are more for folks who like big, dramatic music — that’s not exactly where I’m at but it’s all right.

@@@ Frank Ocean: Chanel (Blonded, 2017)  A single off the hot tracks on Apple Music. I kinda feel like Frank Ocean is overrated but I keep listening.  I dig the simplicity of his arrangements and his ragged vocal delivery, but I’m not jumping up and down.  The vocal hook revolves around him singing ‘I see both sides like Chanel’ which I guess references his bisexuality or some aspect of it.  I’ve always had trouble with slack vibes in music, I could never get into Pavement or Lou Reed so it’s fair to say my no love for slackness does indeed cross racial lines.  It’s not an awful tune it just confirms the he’s either hyped or I’m not very bright.

YTD recordings listened to: 168
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 91
Not good music: 63

Buys: 0
Honorable Mentions: 1

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, Zomby, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Divanhana, Moken, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, A Tribe Called Quest, Noname, Gouge Away, Anna Hogberg, Klara Lewis, Aethenor, Krullur, The Lowest Form, Hard Proof, James Brandon Lewis, Yotoco, Tinariwen, Jungle Fire, Sandoz, Power Trip, Fruko Y Sos Tesos

Leave a Reply

