Music for 12/8/16!!! Chance the Rapper, Nick Cave, ANOHNI

@@@ Chance the Rapper: Coloring Book (Chance the Rapper, 2016).  First off Chance the Rapper is absolutely bad ass for being in year end best of lists without a label.  That is pure genius.  However, regular readers know that I’m a complete hardass and that someone’s accomplishments in business have no impact on the quality of music.  I peeped this album earlier in the year and I thought it was above average but not #1 material, which is it on Pitchfork’s best of 2016.  I don’t like what having a different MC on each tune does the record — it jumps around and doesn’t appear to be more than a bunch of tunes with different MCs on them.

@@@ Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds: Skeleton Tree (Bad Seed, 2016).  I’m a Nick Cave fan, a pretty big one.  This is the first record he’s done sine the unfortunate death of his son.  This first tune is pretty heavy with a nice pulsing distorted swell and a slowly arcing high frequency dipper.  Theremin, or theremin like.  I’m on the fourth tune and I like this record.  I’m not sure it’s the #7 record of the year (according to Pitchfork)  I think the story that accompanies this record may be pushing it up on year end lists.  Only time will tell.

@@@ ANOHNI: Hopelessness (Secretly Canadian, 2016).  I love this dude Anthony who used to be the force behind Antony and the Johnsons.  His voice is so dramatic and weird — this is not someone striking a pose (at least that’s the impression I get from listening to his music).  I think this third tune, Watch Me, is brilliant.  I’m going to go back and try to find that tune to clip below because he really works a meanigful set of lyrics on this tune.  I might have swing back on this record but I’m not sure — I love his singing and the lyrics, which is not a frequent occurrence in my listening, but the sounds are not some of my favorites.  Check out the video below.

YTD recordings listened to: 965
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 539
Not good music: 366

Buys: 19
Honorable Mentions: 21

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, Zomby, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Divanhana, Moken, Brian Eno, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, Miramar, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, Acid Arab, Bonga, A Tribe Called Quest

Leave a Reply

