10/18/16: The 1975, Gonjasufi, Machine Gun Kelly & Camila Cabello, Gonjasufi, Glad Rags,

@@@ The 1975: I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it (Interscope, 2016).  Points off for cheesy record title.  I get the 1975 confused with the Wknd, oh my this second song Love Me is so embarrassing I’m going to have go on one of my typical talking about something else so I don’t wail the music.  This is like a watered down Prince tune inside an XTC stale taco shell.  So what about this election?  I’m loving it.  It’s like a boiled vinegar enema.  One more tune and then I’m out.  I guess the only thing I’ve learned or felt from this record is that I now understand more clearly why Bob Dylan won the Nobel Peace Prize for Literature.  This is kindergarden music for infantile adults.  I implore you not to ruin what little mind you might have left by not listening to this sonic baby food.  11 million views for this dirty diaper, shame on you people.  I wouldn’t piss on these guys if they were on fire.

@@@ Gonjasufi: Callus (Warp, 2016).  I got to this record via this week’s CFUV weekly playlist email.  The Apple Music blurb has this record ‘welding dystopian blues from rusty shards of hip hop, industrial, and electronica.’  In this first tune I hear grungy downer rock with some chopped elements to the production.  I’m not hearing the dystopian blues but I’m a patient man.  I would go for this blurb if the guitar playing was anywhere close to blues playing but it isn’t.  Imma check this third tune Afrikan Spaceship and then Imma outie.  This is a really good idea for a record but I don’t think they executed it due to limited musicianship.  I applaud the concept but can’t jump up and down over the record.

@@@ Machine Gun Kelly & Camila Cabello: Bad Things (Interscope, 2016).  An almost creaming female singer over an electro arrangement with an MC.  Not X-rated but plenty of bodies intertwined as it bounces from the female vibe to the male rhyming vibe.  It appears the tune has a bit of an S&M vibe to it, which is interesting.  It’s an all right tune but it feels long as the hooks get repeated a whole bunch.

@@@ Glad Rags: Imaginary Friends (597561 Records, 2016).  A two song single I got to via this week’s CFUV weekly email.  Oh my, these aren’t three minute hit it and quit it biscuits, both of these tracks are 10 minutes.  It’s opening ambient and mildly squawking and I predict a hellatious explosion at some point.  Don’t go in the basement, there’s a monster down there and he’s gonna fuck your shit up!  This tune Relapse (clipped below) is an interesting mash of influences — a little indie, a little Tom Waits and a little fuzzy noise to de-yuppify the proceedings.  You will not see this outfit on Nonesuch.  There is no explosion and I’m not sure why these guys are in the loud section of the CFUV weekly email but it’s an interesting tracks and folks should check it out.

YTD recordings listened to: 822
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 460
Not good music: 308

Buys: 15
Honorable Mentions: 12

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, Zomby, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Divanhana, Unrestrained, Moken, Systema Solar, Brian Eno, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, Miramar, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Joe Sticky, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Neurosis, Magrudergrind, Gorguts, Solange, Acid Arab, Brent Cobb, Xylouris White, Vadou Game

Leave a Reply

