10/11/16: Acid Arab, Goat, Shovels and Rope, The Killers

@@@ Acid Arab: Musique De France (Crammed Discs, 2016).  I saw this record on this week’s WRIR weekly email and I’m peeping it because the Crammed Discs label is home to Konono No. 1 and if they’re smart enough to put those guys out I should peep their other releases.  This first track is similar in that it’s a melted electronic/world mash with a stringed instrument loop and distorted kinda punishing rhythm.  I like this first track let’s peep more.  The arrangements here are extremely funky.  I continue to maintain that the world music electronica is far superior to the blue jean Bushwick indie faux electro funk.  I see from getting this video from the GooglePimp that Acid Arab appears to be a remixing outfit and that would explain the high quality of their arrangements and all the guest vocalists as well.

@@@ Goat: Requiem (Sub Pop, 2016).  I saw this release up on this week’s All Music notable release email and everybody knows how much I love the indie music.  I love it, I love it, I love it.  Really.  After a short chanted intro we get into a pastoral, psych/hippie thing.  Strummed acoustic guitar, wood flute, etc.  Not a big shitty mess like Woodstock but get your peace sign t-shirt out!  I like the arrangement on this second tune, I sing in silence, and I think I’m not feeling the female singer.  I’m not sure why but it’s true.  I guess this if for the millenial generation peaceniks out there.

@@@ Shovels and Rope: Little Seeds (New West, 2016).  Also off this week’s All Music notable release email.  Blurbed as a bluesy, groovy rock this first tune sounds more than a bit like Robert Palmer’s Addicted to Love.  There are two lead singers on this record, male and female and I dig that.  The first tunes had sort of boilerplate arrangements but the third tune is a slow ballad that I thus far like.  Mandolin, electric organ and two voices.  I’d give this is a solid B.

@@@ The Killers: Peace of Mind (Island, 2016).  Hold on people we’re up for some epic rock off the Apple Music hot tracks section.  A slow, almost ebow guitar drone, some big drum toms, strummed guitar and a very intimate singer.  Peace of mind is easy to find when when the time is right.  I’m not sure I understand what this main vocal hook means but they’re getting pretty big rawk about it.  You gotta learn to let it go.  Mostly cheese, light on the protein.

YTD recordings listened to: 804
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 451
Not good music: 301

Buys: 15
Honorable Mentions: 12

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, Zomby, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Divanhana, Unrestrained, Moken, Systema Solar, Brian Eno, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, Miramar, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Joe Sticky, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Neurosis, Magrudergrind, Gorguts, Solange, Acid Arab

Leave a Reply

