9/19/16: Seekae, Abou Diarra, Puppa Lek Sen, Calvin Harris

@@@ PUPPA LEK SEN: Sweet & Tuff (Jahsen Creation, 2016) Mr. Lek Sen is from Senegal but he’s rocking what looks like a Native American headdress which I find interesting.  The first tune opens up with a full African reggae ensemble including epic burning rock guitar, keys, and organ.  Mr. Lek Sen sounds a whole bunch like the lead singer of Burning Spear, Winston Rodney.  It’s vintage sounding except the mix sounds very bright to my ears.  I like this second tune more — the track is called Pirates and it features a guest vocalist performing with Lek Sen.  The band reminds of classic Peter Tosh sounds and I like Lek Sen’s vocals.  I like the guitar player more when he has the distortion pedal turned off.

@@@ Seekae: Turbine Blue (Future Classic, 2016).  I saw this single name checked on a twert on the Twerter.  It’s a slow synth love burner with retro beats and some electronic candy treats lightly sprinkled in the upper register.  I don’t hate the singer but I’m not jumping up and down.  I liked it better when Prince rocked this sound.

@@@ Abou Diarra: Live Au New Morning (Celluloid, 2015)  A full African band including piano that I got to via the WRIR weekly charts email.  He’s got an electric guitar player that contrasts his ngoni playing and the feel of this first tune is kinda jammy.  He’s broken out of that vibe into a brisk solo which is more interesting.  I think he’s more a player than a singer.

@@@ Calvin Harris: My Way (Sony, 2016).  Former Tizzie Stick boy toy covers Frank Sinatra!  God I wish.  He’s got a little forlorn intro and then it’s into the poppy, bouncy EDM section.  I don’t know why he castrated the kick drum so much as this is dance music.  Let me save you some time by observating that the tune becomes more cheesy as it rolls on — more handclaps, more repetitions of a super simple vocal hook, more background vocals sauce.  Ms. Tizzie sucks but Mr. Harris sucks in his own special way.  They both suck, they belong together!!  I’m not sure why I’ve enclosed the lyric video, I guess it’s ironic.  Pee Yoo.

YTD recordings listened to: 742
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 419
Not good music: 276

Buys: 14
Honorable Mentions: 12

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, Zomby, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Divanhana, Unrestrained, Moken, Systema Solar, Brian Eno, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, The Lickshots, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, Miramar, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Joe Sticky, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes

Leave a Reply

