9/14/16: Dysnea Boys, J Balvin, Prophets of Rage, John Scofield

@@@ Dysnea Boys: Forgot to Read (Dysnea Boys, 2016).  Old school punk rawk off this week’s CFUV playlist email.  No fancy Green Day background vocals here — just your desperate singer, bread and butter punk drum beats and a pretty interesting guitars.  This third tune Spike in My Skull is the best of what I heard.  I dig the bass tone and the guitar work here.

@@@ J Balvin: Energia (Capitol Latin, 2016) Take some Justin Bieber vibes, slather ’em with reggaetonero beats and Spanish lyrics and you’re pretty close.  I guess this pop shit is global.  We even encounter Parrell ‘Hatman’ Williams on this third tune Safari. I like some of the sounds here but I thought this was going pump harder than this.  A tad too loverlboy for my tastes.

@@@ Prophets of Rage: The Party’s Over EP (Prophets of Rage, 2016).  This is a Tom Morello outfit – oh you can hear it as soon as it fires up.  I recognize Chuck D from Public Enemy but Imma have to search on who the second rapper is on this record.  Ah, Cypress Hill duder.  I peeped Zack De La Rocha’s single yesterday and this EP today and I think it would be better if they reunited as I like this EP but De La Rocha’s gravelly voice works much better than Chuck D.  You can’t fuck with Chuck D, he’s the man, but I think he works better in a more traditional hip hop setting.

@@@ John Scofield: Country for Old Men (Impulse, 2016).  A single from Scofield who is a big late 20th century jazz guitarist along side Pat Metheny and Bill Frissell.  I really don’t like either of those gents so I’m going with Scofield who has a fusion-y tone on this track – sharp and a little rock-y.  He’s backed by a swinging drummer and a swelling organist and I’m feeling the organist for sure.  The fabulous folks at Impulse are pretty cheap with the GoogleTube kibble so this is just a small cookie for your listening pleasure.  As for jazz guitar stick with Joe Morris and steer clear of Metheny and Frissell and don’t fall for the Mary Halvorson hype.  This is a pleasant melody for flavored coffee drinking for sure.

YTD recordings listened to: 731
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 412
Not good music: 272

Buys: 13
Honorable Mentions: 12

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, Zomby, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Divanhana, Unrestrained, Moken, Systema Solar, Brian Eno, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, The Lickshots, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, Miramar, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Changui Majadero, Joe Sticky, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes

Leave a comment