8/17/16: Don Gallardo, Brian Wilbur Grundstrom, Unfun, Dae Dae

@@@ Don Gallardo: Hickory (Self-released, 2015) An Americana record I got to via a music publicist in Chicago.  This first tune is a lush affair with sweet vocal harmonies and a measured pace.  Instrumentation is dobro, fiddle, mandolin, bass, drums, acoustic guitar and vocals. Let’s peep more.  The second tune is more of a summer shuffle with some pretty sweet acoustic slide.  The playing is very sweet and the record sounds great.  I don’t love Gallardo’s voice and lyrics as much as I like the playing.  Check him out.

@@@ Brian Wilbur Grundstrom: An Orchestral Journey (Navona, 2016).  A new classical composer I got to because I’m on the label’s mailing list.  The first tune is not available on Apple Music and the second one is slightly downtempo, very pleasant and driven by the string section.  I’m not going to gas readers by passing myself off as a classical music afficionado so I will relate that the marketing blurb for the records says Grundstrom favors long melodic lines and I hear that as well as harmonic sweetness and midtempo energy.  This is mellow classical not the ‘I’m going to invade your country classical.’

@@@ Unfun: Waterboarding (Debt Offensive, 2016)  Switching gears!  I thought this was going to be a hardcore punk record but it’s open up sludgy with waves of guitar ooze and tasty bass ooze as well.  Hmmmm…..now we’ve gone from that to a sort of Husker Du wall of guitar punk.  I like this and I hope they can keep it up.  And it sounds like they’re doing a good job on this second tune, Death Majesty.  These guys have a less dour singer than Bob Mould which changes the vibe of the record a whole bunch and I think Imma have to swing back on this record when I get a chance.

@@@ Dae Dae: Wat U Mean (Aye, Aye, Aye) (Nitti/300, 2016).  A rough hip hop single off the Apple Music front page.  I like the beat all right, I don’t like the sounds that constitute the arrangement but Dae Dae is energetic and convincing on the microphone.

YTD recordings listened to: 658
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 366
Not good music: 239

Honorable Mentions: 12
Buys: 11

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, Zomby, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Akitsa, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Divanhana, Unrestrained, Moken, Systema Solar, Brian Eno, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, The Lickshots, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, Miramar, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Changui Majadero, Joe Sticky, Vieux Kante, Keefe Jackson, Unfun

Leave a Reply

