8/11/16: Nels Cline, The Milk, Jeff Beck, Tove Lo

@@@ Nels Cline: Lovers (Blue Note, 2016).  I saw this in the editors list at Apple Music.  I will tell you upfront that my favorite Nels Cline playing is found on Mike Watt’s record late ’90s record Contemplating the Engine Room and that I’ve been underwhelmed by his solo jazz records.  But I always try to listen with open ears.  This first tune is quite orchestral with some lovely long tone woodwind playing.  This sounds about what a Nels Cline Blue Note record would sound like.  Let’s peep more.  I predict that this record was designed to be a Sketches of Spain type of record but with a guitar as lead instrument.  It has a purposeful and artistic restraint and there’s nary a shred or distorted guitar in sight.  These types of records are for people to use as a drug to make them feel more sophisticated than they are.  Check out the Mike Watt effort as that is some action yo.

@@@ The Milk: Favourite Worry (Wah Wah 45s)  Off the soul/funk section of Apple Music.  This first tune opens up medium funky with some bounce, a nice electric piano and a reaching singer.  I don’t dislike this song and let’s peep more.  Oh I don’t like those background vocals.  I think the singer owns a bunch of Al Green records, he’s got a bit of a preacher thing going on.  Third tune, this is my last track.  I don’t think I love the guitar player, his/her playing is a bit standard, and I don’t love the background vocals.  I neither love the record nor loathe it and regular readers know I’m not shy about loathing.  I have no fear of loathing.

@@@ Jeff Beck: Loud Hailer (Rhino, 2016).  Rarely do I stray into the classic rock section of Apple Music but hey hey it’s hot as fuck this summer and here’s hoping we can get this election cancelled.  This first tune is more bombastic than I would expect from a Jeff Beck record and he’s sporting a thick accented female singer.  Will wonders never cease?  Beck can play the fuck out of the guitar it’s the other bits I worry about.  And the sort of soggy rock beat in the first tune is not highlighting his deft shredding.  Second tune and the main question is who decided these beats for Jeff Beck?  They stink and with the singer they double up the cheese factor.  They need some Keith Moon shit and get some fire pumping.  These beats do this player no justice.

@@@ Tove Lo: Cool Girl (Universal, 2016).  A sultry identity politics tune that’s on the front page of Apple Music.  This is in this recent trend of neither full on dance floor bangers nor ballads.  The chorus is ‘I’m a cool girl, Imma Imma cool girl, ice cold I roll, my eyes on you boy.’  That’s the main vocal hook that you will hear quite a bit.  I like the bass vamp in the verse and that really stands out as the best element of the song.  The rest of it, meh.

YTD recordings listened to: 643
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 350
Not good music: 234

Honorable Mentions: 11
Buys: 9

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Dawn Richard, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Akitsa, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Divanhana, Unrestrained, Moken, Systema Solar, Brian Eno, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, The Lickshots, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, Miramar, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Margo Price, Changui Majadero, Seratones, Joe Sticky, Vieux Kante, Keefe Jackson, Jim the Boss

Leave a Reply

