8/9/16: Sarathy Korwar, Skillet, OWEL, July Talk

@@@ Sararthy Korwar: Day to Day (Ninja Tune, 2016).  I saw this record mentioned on the Twatter.  Let me clarify when I say that, I do not twat or surf the Twatter.  I get emails of people I follow on the Twatter where they speak about their things/issues with a twat.  I follow some music critic twats as I find the mention of the listening to be more important than a review.  Hey, he’s listening I’ll give it a peep after seeing that twat.  So this was twatted as Sufi electronica but it sounds less electronic-y and more jazz fusion-y with strong Southeast Asian vibes.  I’m not sure what the stringed instrument is on this first tune but it’s cool  Let’s peep another tune.  Listeners will encounter a ’70s era electric piano on this second track and I find that to be sort of cliche.  It’s using a package of sounds an era rather than an uniquely individual musical statement.

@@@ Skillet: Unleashed (Atlantic, 2016)  The most cliche, garbage-tacious shopping mall hard rock drowning in cheese sauce.  This first tune, Invincible, is just a whole lot of sonic ass.  Let’s peep one more biscuit to verify.  I don’t know if a tune titled Back from the Dead is going to get me where I want to go, but I do find it interesting that a lot of the lyrics appear to be overcoming feelings of powerless-ness.  In this first tune he wanted to feel invincible and in this one he’s just clawing to stay alive.  We are young, we are strong, we will rise!  You just need some brown shirts and an armed drone.  Wow, 7 million views on this video clipped below.  A tremendous waste of bandwidth!

@@@ OWEL: Paper Hands (Equal Vision, 2016)  A single that I got to via the indie music blog Indiepulse.  The track opens up fragile emo/indie with lyrics growing old.  There’s a lot arpeggiated guitar, sweet vocals, and a shaker that goes with the drummer.  Now it’s opening up into a space rock, shimmering sound.  I own a couple of Equal vision recordds from back in the day and they were rougher.  Now the tune is rising in temperature a bit but not full throttle.  When the world is through with us, and leaving us behind in a cloud of dust.  Oooh, I don’t know if I can accept that.

@@@ July Talk: Strange Habit (Universal, 2016).  Well, it’s August but I won’t close the door on a band called July Talk.  The tune opens up sparse and a wee creepy and friendly.  There’s a nice, simple piano hook, childlike in style, and now the tune is blossoming with multiple vocal parts, a midtempo early Radiohead rock beat.  I can only describe this as a big whoosh.  Not a flushing toilet whoosh more of a strange dream liftoff whoosh.  I thought it might explode out the outro but it’s gonna slack on outta town.

YTD recordings listened to: 635
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 347
Not good music: 231

Honorable Mentions: 11
Buys: 9

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Dawn Richard, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Akitsa, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Divanhana, Unrestrained, Moken, Systema Solar, Brian Eno, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, The Lickshots, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, Miramar, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Margo Price, Changui Majadero, Seratones, Joe Sticky, Vieux Kante, Keefe Jackson

Leave a Reply

