7/13/16: Manwel T, Roy Wood, The Impossible Gentlemen, Bacao Rhythm and Steel Band

Hey ya, I hope these youtube links come through when this amazing music review blog post comes out as they are currently acting funky.

@@@ Manwel T: Cosmic (Self-released, 2015)  Some roots reggae with dubs that I got to from an email from the artist himself.  The first tune, Cosmic, is uptempo with modern production with a solid trumpet hook.  He breaks the tune down a bit more in the dub version and I prefer this version without the vocals.  I’m feeling this second tune, Living Dub, as the bass is getting down to frequencies not often heard on my speakers. I liked the second and fifth tunes on this record, but I have clipped the first one as that’s what I could find.  I wanted the tunes to get broken down some more into itty bitty delayed pieces but that’s just my preference.

@@@ Roy Wood: Walking at Dawn (OVO/Warner Bros, 2016).  Off the Apple Music front page.  I think this is one of Drake’s producer, let me DuckDuck this brother.  They have some sort of connection but I can’t tell who is whose boy, whether Drake signed him to his label or whether he does tracks for the Drake, who has a big ass pool.  It doesn’t matter much because this first tune just goes on and on with the firmness of wet cardboard.  This second tune features a MC who I assume to be Wood, but the arrangement is the same washed out electronica.

@@@  The Impossible Gentlemen: Let’s Get Deluxe (Basho, 2016)  A piano/guitar/bass/drums quartet record that I got to via the London Jazz blog.  This first tune, the title track, is both straight jazz-y and a wee bit proggy.  Let’s peep further as I don’t love this first tune.  This second tune is a ballad, soft as a summer morn.  Suddenly I’m feeling the urge for some flavored coffee and a hug!

@@@ Bacao Rhythm & Steel Band: Jungle Fever (Big Crown, 2016)  I saw this band reviewed by the fantastic world music station WRIR in Virginia but only this track up on my Apple Music.  These guys are a mash of funk and a Trinidadian steel drum band.  Oh my this tune opens up skanky even sporting cowbell with a minimal but driving bass line.  And here are the steel drums.  I thought that would sound weird but it sounds very cool to have that metal percussion sound right up in the funky buzzard.

TD recordings listened to: 564
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 312
Not good music: 209

Honorable Mentions: 9
Buys: 9

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Dawn Richard, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Akitsa, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Divanhana, Unrestrained, Moken, Systema Solar, Brian Eno, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, The Lickshots, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, Xenia Rubinos, Eli Paperboy Reed, Miramar, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin

Leave a Reply

