5/5/16: Zedd and Keisha, Woodland Telegraph, Aesop Rock, Imarhan,

@@@ Zedd & Keisha: True Colors (     , 2016).  Some uplifting, post-shitshow dance electronica from Keisha after her public blowout with Dr. Luke.  Who knows what happened with their respective junk?  Regardless, her struggles doesn’t mean I have to like these cheesy, bullshit lyrics.  She’s lighting the flame right before it rains.  She’s not afraid.  Puh-lease.  Hold up Keisha, let me get a biscuit so you can cut a nice thick hunk of cheese for me.  Fire in the eyes, rainbows, big reverb patches, she has no master, all her life one page at a time, I’ll show you my true colours.  I almost made it to the end of the track, but it was painful.  Woof.

@@@ Woodland Telegraph: Screendeath Summersong (Woodland Telegraph, 2016).  This record is on the CFUV playlist email in the roots section.  I get that but to my ears but this sounds like the kind of earnest guitar indie that makes my teeth hurt.  The third tune, two songs after the intro, features a banjo which gets it into the roots section, and I will give this record some slack because these guys live in Canada so this sort of optimism and niceness does not seem as out of place as it does here in A-Moronica/America.

@@@ Aesop Rock: The Impossible Kid (Rhymesayers, 2016).  I’ve never been blown away by Aesop Rock but I’m open to the possibility.  This first tune is funky and sci-fi.  Rock’s verbal rhythm is brisk and natural.  I like this second tune, Rings, better.  I like the beats and the bass, the synths not as much.   I like the first four songs all right, but there’s no love.  Maybe there’s something wrong with me.

@@@ Imarhan: Imarhan (City Slang, 2016).  Desert blues off the WRIR weekly music review email.  This first tune is very interior, downtempo and great for headphones.  The second tune drops the acoustic vibe for the electric guitars.  I like it but I wish the sounds were rougher and I wish it rocked harder.

YTD recordings listened to: 404
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 227
Not good music: 150

Honorable Mentions: 8
Buys: 7

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Dawn Richard, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Akitsa, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Divanhana, Unrestrained, Moken, Cha Wa, Systema Solar, Brian Eno, Juan Atkins

Leave a Reply

