4/22/16: PJ Harvey, Shez Raja, The Aviators

@@@ PJ Harvey: The Hope Six Demolition Project (Vagrant, 2016).  Off this week’s All Music notable release email.  I will give it a chance but this first tune feels a bit forced to my ears.  It’s definitely not what I expected to hear but I am a fan of Harvey so I will keep on.  The first two tunes have distinct Pink Floyd The Wall era vibes, but the third tune turns quiet only to return to a shuffle beat in the fourth tune, Chain of Keys.  I appreciate the political lyrics, I don’t like the chorus singing in the tunes.  I don’t have a good reason why I don’t like it, I just don’t.  And I wished it rock more.  But it’s intelligent because PJ Harvey is a very smart woman and if this sort of big rock activism sounds good to you then check her out.

@@@ Shez Raja: Gurutopia (Dot Time, 2016).  Some fusion/straight jazz with guitar as the central figure.  I got to this record via the London Jazz blog.  The first tune is uptempo and featuring Martin-Medeski-Wood drums, electric piano and electric bass.  I like the guitar player in places all right, the drummer less so.  From the GoogleTube I see that Raja is the bass player.   I like parts of it all right, but I’m not a huge fusion guy and when the third tune, a ballad came on, that punched my ticket.

@@@ The Aviators: Wolfanizer (The Aviators, 2015).  A guitar-o-centric blues/stoner rock mash that I got to via the indie music blog Indiepulse.  Big Wolfmother guitar riffage, a more bluesy singer, and a few pubes of the Black Keys sprinkled in for hipness.  Hey, whassup with the Black Keys, I guess they didn’t like it when Steve Miller whipped the shit on them at the Rock ‘N Roll Hall of Fame.  If you like the standard, big guitar riffs these guys will hook you up.

YTD recordings listened to: 367
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 208
Not good music: 137

Honorable Mentions: 8
Buys: 7

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Dawn Richard, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Akitsa, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Divanhana, Unrestrained, Moken, Cha Wa, Systema Solar

Leave a Reply

