4/7/16: Drake, Black Mountain, Ash Koosa

@@@ Drake: One Dance (Not sure, 2016)  You know I love the Drake.  He got a big ass pool in L.A., bigger than Dre’s.  Now there’s only thing better than when Drake rhymes, it’s when he sings.  Oh mama, when they load the brother up on Autotune and he gets all loverboy, that is the shit!  For real.  I like some of the dancehall sounds, but the star here is Drake and his vocal hook that he just keeps on with.  Drake is the man!

@@@ Black Mountain: IV (Jagjaguwar, 2016)  I’m in the middle of compiling my best of 2015 picks and I realized I’m more than a bit light on the indie rock.  So either I don’t know  anything at all and I have shitty taste, or indie rock sucks ass and I’m just one of the few to tell the truth to all you hipster white folks.  I’m guessing the latter, but it’s true that I don’t know much.  I clicked to stream this record as I’ve enjoyed Black Mountain records, the first one I felt that one.  This first tune is dramatical, a little Jethro Tull, a slow build, some male and female vocal trading and just.  So this is an indie redo of ’70s rock and the one word I would use: sleepy.  Let’s skip ahead as this mellow intro — oh shit, just before I fast forwarded came the big rock guitar riffage.  Bad Company, Foreigner, it’s like being beaten with a sack full of oranges.  In a good way?  Oh, nice solo and I mean that.  You go, son, get it all out!  I had to tip out of that first tune as it was 8 minutes long and I couldn’t hang for it.   The second tune Florian Saucer Attack combines the synth hooks with the guitars.  I”m not sure how I feel about that.  I’m getting Pat Benatar flashbacks.  This third tune keeps the big rock vibes but gets on the faded stoner ballad.  I’ll go back and re-check out their first record.

@@@ Ash Koosa: I AKA I (Ninja Tune, 2016)  Also off this week’s All Music notable releases.  This first tune is mad chopped, pleasantly chopped.  There are some annoying cell phone sounds/R2D2 action, but a nice bass pulse, and a twisted abstract animal well that pans back and forth.  Mixed bag yo.  I’m on the second tune, Feather, and I must say this Ash Koosa can surely spray the robot sounds around.  If you were tripping or otherwise altered and peeping this music I imagine it would be quite moving and heavy.  Sonic goodie bag aside this third tune is the best composed of what I heard but my general feeling is that the sounds are hot but compositionally not quite as hot.

YTD recordings listened to: 328
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 184
Not good music: 122

Honorable Mentions: 6
Buys: 4

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Dave Arner Trio, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Debruit, Slidhr, The Whammies, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Dawn Richard, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Akitsa, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Matt Parker, Divanhana, Troum, Unrestrained, Carrie Rodriguez, Moken, Ghostlimb, Cruciamentum, Cha Wa

Leave a Reply

