3/11/16: Rattlesnake Choir, James Hunter Six, Killing Joke, Junior Boys,

@@@ Rattlesnake Choir: The Prospector’s Curse (Cameron Records, 2015) Big roots music off this week’s CFUV weekly email.  The singer sounds more than a bit like Johnny Cash mashed with Bob Dylan and he’s accompanied by some stylish fiddle, a piano player, and there’s some harmonica going on.  It’s got a loose feel which I dig.  These are old school leaning somber tunes, not quite dirges but a fair dollop of dirge.  So get out a big ol’ jug of moonshine and drown your sorrows.

@@@ James Hunter Six: Hold On! (Daptone!)  Some retro soul off the CFUV playlist email.  I dig the organ and the horn arrangements in this first tune, but I’m not sure I’m a huge fan of Hunter’s voice.  I’m three songs in and I’ve felt the same about all of them.  The band is brisk, I dig the horns and the organ but I don’t feel Hunter’s voice.  Of course, others are free to bask in its glory.  Myself I prefer Nick Waterhouse’s microphone flow.

@@@ Killing Joke: Pylon (Spinefarm, 2016).  Some pretty mainstream heavy music with pretty strong industrial and pop influences to it that I got to via the CFUV weekly email.  Some synth action and a pretty bouncy beat in this first tune.  It sorta feigns at being heavy, I think this is sci-fi metal for 13 year olds.  Maybe I’ve gotten these guys confused with another band with the word ‘killing’ in it, but it’s not really my cup of tea.  At all.

@@@ Junior Boys: Big Black Coat (City Slang, 2016)  A mash of club music with skittery beats and soft male vocals that I got to via the CFUV weekly playlist email.  I’m finding this first tune a bit tiresome — not a good sign but I’ll give a couple more listens.  I don’t like the beats and the vocals.  This is for fans of the Pet Shop Boys and other pop electronic outfits.

YTD recordings listened to: 241
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 133
Not good music: 88

Honorable Mentions: 5
Buys: 3

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Dave Arner Trio, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Debruit, Slidhr, The Whammies, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Dawn Richard, Mastery, Leviathan, Xibalba, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Akitsa,  Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Matt Walker, Divanhana, Troum, Unrestrained, Carrie Rodriguez, Moken, Ghostlimb, Los Hacheros

Leave a Reply

