2/6/16: Majid Jordan, Chase Rice, Kode9, Future

@@@ Majid Jordan: Majid Jordan (Warner, 2016)  Regular readers know how much I love the Drake so I couldn’t wait to check out some of his producing partners’ music.  This first tune is super clean r&b with some tasty synth arrangements, slick beats and dreck lyrics.  Not complete shit, but very predictable.  The second tune is less ballad-y and more of a soft club banger.  Same weak lyrics.  If the loverboy popped something in there like ‘I just had sex with a little dog’ I would stand up and take notice.  Drake is on this third tune so I gotta peep it.  He’s got a big ass pool in L.A., bigger than Dre.  This same butterhead is on the mic, gimme my Drake dammit, his skills are unsurpassed.  Here he is, oh my knees are weak, he’s so good and that pool!  Excellent sounds and cliche lyrics — must be a major label release.

@@@ Chase Rice: Whisper (Dack Janiels/Sony, 2016)  A panting, orgasmic male cowboy on the microphone riding his manly surfboard on a tidal wave of cheesy sounds.  Regular readers know how much I love a new country banger, but this is just so dramatical my teeth are about to fall out.  So sweet and urgent and with a banjo!!  What has happened to my country?  Oh, I gotta stop typing as I gotta rock the air guitar — you shred, you go boy.  Three minutes of sumthing, I don’t even know what to call this.

@@@ Kode9: Nothing (Hyperdub, 2015)  A dark electronic affair off this week’s CFUV weekly playlist email.  The first tune is a simple flowing panache of gurgling chainsaw synths but the second tune gets more ponged and video gamey.  Very minimalist, maybe a tad too minimalist for my taste.  I’m not a simpleton, if the elements that Mr. 9 gave were more compelling I would be fine with minimalist.  Ah, track 3 and we got beats yo.  Old school with handclaps and long synth tones over the top.  I’m five tunes in and while I like some of the beats and the way he pushes the beats against other sounds in the arrangement I don’t find it compelling listening for me.

@@@ Future: Fly Shit Only (Epic, 2016)  The top banger on the Best of the Week at Apple Music.  People love the Future.  I’m not sure why, but they do.  He’s got some skittery beats, an arpeggiated guitar loop.  This an action movie banger but he’s got a slightly swollen tongue and they got some Autotune on his voice so it’s hard to tell what he’s on about.  It sounds as if he’s milly rockin’ for sure.  Here’s the string arrangement, what’s up with strings in hip hop tunes?  This single is from an upcoming full length — it’s all right but this may be a case where the publicist is working harder than the musician.

YTD recordings listened to: 125
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 67
Not good music: 51

Honorable Mentions: 3
Buys: 2

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Dave Arner Trio, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Debruit, Slidhr, The Whammies, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Dawn Richard, Mastery, Leviathan, Xibalba, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Akitsa,  Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Reverend Peyton, Living Hell

Leave a Reply

