1/4/16: Deafheaven, Pinkish Black, Khemmis

@@@ Deafheaven: Bermuda (Anti-, 2015)  This is Pitchfork’s favorite metal record of the year.  I perused their top 25 and it is damned shame that they didn’t put the Fuck the Facts record on the list, never mind near the top.  I like aspects of this first tune, and some of it I find annoying.  I like the drummer, I don’t love the guitar tones, and I’m agnostic on the orc-isa singer.  The blurb on Apple Music gives props to their shoe gaze melodicism that informs their metal aggression.  That’s just it, I don’t want any shoe gaze in my heavy metal.  I can listen to shoe gaze if I want shoe gaze.  The guitar player doesn’t stink but he’s not my cup of tea.

@@@ Pinkish Black: Bottom of the Morning (Relapse, 2015).  A heavy proggy kinda record also off the Pitchfork’s best metal records of 2015.  The first tune has heavy dark synths, a fuzzy bass, and big arena rock drums.  The singer has that downer-y, mental patient kind of voice.  And I mean mental patient in a totally positive way.   They start pushing hard on the second tune, Special Dark, but as I don’t love the shoe gaze in my metal, I’m not huge fan of synths in metal.  I can deal with it, I’m not a fascist about it.  Maybe if the singer wasn’t quite as art school I would dig it more.

@@@Khemmis: Absolution (20 Buck Spin, 2015)  Also off Pitchfork’s best 25 metal records of 2015.  Sweet, syrupy, guitar distortion — really quite pleasant to have that pouring in the headphones.  Some stoner rock/classic metal shred over that and an arena drum sound.  The singer is singing!  I mean pretty boy singing, it’s really quite something to hear.   In this second tune the singer ‘rides through crystalline skies.’  So factor that epic vocal/lyric flow into your consideration.   Ooh, now we got a little orc scowl going on.  The rhythm guitar is the star here as far as I’m concerned.  And remember to check out the Fuck the Facts record from last year.

YTD recordings listened to: 13
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 9
Not good music: 4

Honorable Mentions: 0
Buys: 0

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Dave Arner Trio, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, About Group, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Debruit, Slidhr, The Whammies, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mohamed Abozekry, Dawn Richard, Leo Welch, Mastery, Leviathan, Xibalba, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Akitsa,  Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Noisem, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves

Leave a Reply

