12/10/15: Wilco!

@@@ Wilco: Star Wars (Anti-, 2015).  Regular readers know that I throw a lot of shit on Wilco’s shoes, so let me back up and give the background to the beef.  I watched the documentary about the so called revolutionary record Foxtrot Hotel and I thought the Tweedy had to be one of the slackest, whiniest punks I had come across in ages.  I guess folks are very forgiving, but you’re not supposed to release films where listeners will dislike the leader of the band more at the end than at the beginning of the movie.  On top of that, Wilco supported Rahm Emmanuel, the mayor of Chicago who is currently caught up in a massive pool of shit for burying the video of his Chicago police gunning down Laquan McDonald.  So fuck them for doing a big show for that prick, who I hope drops dead today.  On top of that when Nels Cline, who is a super talented guitarist joined Wilco they went super pillow soft and all late ’70s soft rock and he played the most bullshit parts and I thought Fuck Wilco they ruined the great guitarist Nels Cline on top of their other crimes.

Finally, regular readers will understand that my blog proceeds on the assumption that some slack is okay but there’s such a thing as too slack and fuck you when you go too slack.  I sympathize with people who are in mental hospitals and are medicated and sedated for the sake of control, but I don’t want some indie fucker standing up in front of the microphone and singing like he’s been taking little white cups of sedatives.  And since Tweedy and Co have gone to the bank on that slack shit and have inspired a whole generation of slack indie fuckers that I have to listen to every day so fuck them for that too!

In my world these are valid reasons to hate the Wilco, so it’s all out there and on to the music.

I’m three songs in on this 34 minute opus and they’ve seem to move away from that pudding soft ’70s soft rock bullshit they’ve been peddling and they’re back to more of a country/indie thing where their playing is firmer and they’re putting out more energy.  Nels Cline figures more into the mix and there’s even some Wilco rocking.  This ain’t no Converge record to be sure, but they’re not serving up some lukewarm oatmeal and telling me it’s a hot potato.  I’m listening to this tune You Satellite and Tweedy is even breaking out of his slack straitjacket.  Will wonders never fucking cease?

I’m allost done with this Wilco record — I’m gonna eat the whole musical sandwich for the holidays and I hate them less.  It was much less slack than expected and I even dug a couple of tunes.  I enjoyed Mr. Cline’s guitar work most.

YTD recordings listened to: 992
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 561
Not good music: 344

Honorable Mentions: 27
Buys: 15

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Dave Arner Trio, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, About Group, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Debruit, Slidhr, The Whammies, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mohamed Abozekry, Dawn Richard, Leo Welch, Mastery, Leviathan, Xibalba, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Akitsa, Richard Thompson, Pat Thomas, Janelle Monae, The Alchemist, Luther Dickinson, Andra Day, Frog Eyes, Fuck the Facts, Destruction Unit, Rim Kwaku Obeng, Graeme Barrett, Kowloon Walled City, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Noisem, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves

Leave a Reply

