11/22/15: Wolfmother, Medusa, Dzang

@@@ Wolfmother: Victorious (UME, 2015).  I really felt the first Wolfmother, it’s close to a classic.  Then they jumped the shark for me.  I saw a single up on the Beats highlights page and thought I would check it out.  The Wolfmother still riffs pretty hard but there’s a sweetness and poppies to the track that I don’t remember from the first record.  The singer has a wee bit of dandy going on in this single.  He basically put some Styx in his Wolfmother.  I’d rather not myself.

@@@ Medusa: First Step Beyond (Numero Group, 2015).  I saw this reissue one of my heavy metal music email orders and the Googletube tells me they were some kind of photo-metal band in the ’70s.  Compared to today’s metal this sounds tame and kind of sentimental.  Definitely some love of prog going on.  This is like a Black Sabbath tune without the crunch, let me move ahead and peep.  I’ve clicked ahead four times, the video below is the whole of side 1 and there’s nary a power chord in the house.  If proto-metal is  a dark side of folk/white blues then this is proto-metal.  Well, I’m about 11 minutes in and there’s finally some riffage but it’s not satisfying to me.  Check it for yourself.

@@@ Dzang: Lotion ( Dzang Records, 2015).  Another release I saw on the Beats highlights page and I’m on some shizzy ass wifi out of the country so this may be the last tune for this listening session.  I can hear the sighs of disappointment rolling across the    North American plain.  It opens up chopped indie with shreds of female voices and rolling murmurs before the clean chiming guitar kicks in.  Now I’m getting a little art school feeling here and then some indie electronic vibes.  Oh my, a lot of genres I have trouble with all swirled up in one ice cream cone.  The singer is caught in a repetitive abstract figure over the kick drum/handclaps and that puts me pretty much a non-buyer of this track.  It has some interesting sounds.

YTD recordings listened to: 941
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 531
Not good music: 326

Honorable Mentions: 21
Buys: 13

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Dave Arner Trio, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, About Group, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Debruit, Slidhr, The Whammies, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, Spacesuits, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mohamed Abozekry, Dawn Richard, Leo Welch, Mastery, Leviathan, Xibalba, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Ellen Jewell, Akitsa, Richard Thompson, Jeremy Pinnell, Pat Thomas, Janelle Monae, The Alchemist, Luther Dickinson, Andra Day, Frog Eyes, Madd Again!, Fuck the Facts, Shannon and the Clams, Destruction Unit, Rim Kwaku Obeng, Graeme Barrett, Kowloon Walled City, Israel Nash, Lionel Loueke, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Noisem, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Dieuf-Diehl De Thies

Leave a Reply

