8/29/15: Andra Day, Beach House, Foals

@@@ Andra Day: Cheers to the Fall (Warner Bros., 2015).  Described as one of the best albums of 2015 by the Beats Highlights page the first tune, Forever Mine is pretty hype for a mainstream record.  I’ve learned not to get excited when the first tune is great because loads of records have great first songs.  I like the childlike piano plinking, the mix and Day is comfortable on the mic.  Oh, the second tune, Only Love is pretty sharp with vibes and a slight James Bond film theme.  I’m on the fourth tune and Day sure can sing and there is some great arranging on this record.  Better than Amy Winehouse, way better than the Tay Tay Swift, this is probably about as good as music for cubicle dwellers is going to get.  I’m going to circle back and check out more of this record when I have time.

@@@ Beach House: Depression Cherry (Sub Pop, 2015).  A shimmery indie electronic affair I saw praised on the Aquarius Records weekly email.  The sound of this first tune is a bit kaleidoscopic and mopey.  I hope the band gets a cup of coffee before the second tune cuz this is a bit sleepy time tea for me.  The main vocal hook on this tune ‘there is a place I want to take you’ and for me I’d like to be take to a good song.  Oh, this second tune opens up with a looped angel choir thing with some guitar shred over the top.  This record isn’t for me.

@@@ Foals: What Went Down (Warner Bros., 2015).  Also off the Beats Highlights page.  I just googled it because I had my suspicions as I can smell that fish and chippy Brit rock from a mile away.  It’s kinda noisy, indie and epic.  Instrumentation is classic rock band and the first tune, the title track builds over 6 minutes.  They got a classic slightly funky white boy thing going in this second tune, and while it’s professionally done I’m not feeling it.  I like British people, and I like the Radiohead, but some of this Brit rock I can’t connect with.

YTD recordings listened to: 685
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 401
Not good music: 233

Honorable Mentions: 17
Buys: 11

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Dave Arner Trio, Bill Horist, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, About Group, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Debruit, Slidhr, The Whammies, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, Spacesuits, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mohamed Abozekry, Dawn Richard, Leo Welch, Mastery, Leviathan, Xibalba, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Ellen Jewell, Akitsa, Chico Trujillo, Richard Thompson, Jeremy Pinnell, Pat Thomas, Knauti, Janelle Monae, The Alchemist, Luther Dickinson, Andra Day

Leave a Reply

