Active Music Listening Tuesday May 5, 2015

YTD recordings listened to: 343
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 204
Not good music: 112

Honorable Mentions: 11
Buys: 8

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Dave Arner Trio, Bill Horist, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, About Group, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Debruit, Slidhr, The Whammies, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, Spacesuits, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mohammed Abozekry, Dawn Richard, Torche, Leo Welch, Astral Swans, Mastery, Leviathan, Xibalba, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Waters, Chui Wan

@@@ The Tallest Man on Earth: Dark Bird is Home (Dead Oceans, 2015).  A single of Mr. Tallest Man’s new album that I saw listed on CFUV’s weekly playlist email.  I have partaken in and enjoyed Mr. Tallest Man’s music and this tune is pretty sweet.  He’s moved a bit away from the nasal Bob Dylan delivery and he’s got a really nice guitar figure working in this tune.  I would check out more of Mr. Tallest Man’s music but it’s not presently up on my Beats store.  The tune ends up full band which I prefer less than just him and his guitar.

@@@ My Morning Jacket: The Waterfall (Capitol, 2015).  So it looks like my Morning Jacket has made the full journey from lonesome alt-country outfit to mainstream, New Age/uplifting outfit with a pub of alt-country.  I wish I hadn’t had breakfast before this first tune, Believe.  It’s got the significant piano trickling, a guitar power chord segue into the explosive chorus with multilayered vocal harmonies entreating you to believe.  I think he bought a big bag of weed and a bunch of Styx and Supertramp records.  Yikes, this might be a brief listen.  The second tune Compound Fracture has more than a pube of solo Stevie Nicks in it.  Well maybe he’ll stop breaking the pills in half and will start taking the whole pill and making so music.  I should have known from the record cover.

@@@ Chui Wan: Chui Wan (Maybe Mars, 2015) Some angular indie off the WFUV weekly email playlist adds.  Mike Watt style bass bumping, bup bup rhythmic guitar and chopping time drums and a synth that actually works for the tune and weirds out the track.  These guys have an interesting mash of influences — a little Minutemen, a schmekl of Devo, a pube of the B-52s.  I had to use pube there because it rhymes with the two in B-52s.  With so much indie being mindless hipster shit, this is some creative music with good energy.  I really like the rhythm section, check these guys out and I while it’s not jump and down music for me I might have to make this an honorable mention indie record for all the indie hipsters out there.

@@@ Doug Burr: When the Arrow Meets the Sparrow (Not sure, 2015)  Some downtempo slacker redneck music I got to via a music publicist.  Real nice guitar growl on this track and Burr’s voice is understated and skilled.  The rest of the tune is there for the guitar and voice to roll over.  I can’t embed it because of this whole who controls my music shit, but if you click through you can stream it up here.  He gets to a classic rock crescendo and it will be cathartic for you alt/classic rock listeners.

Leave a Reply

