Active Music Listening Friday April 17, 2015

YTD recordings listened to: 294
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 173
Not good music: 97

Honorable Mentions: 9
Buys: 5

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Dave Arner Trio, Bill Horist, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, About Group, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Debruit, Slidhr, The Whammies, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, Spacesuits, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mohammed Abozekry, Dawn Richard, Torche, Leo Welch, Astral Swans, Mastery, Leviathan, Lightning Bolt, Xibalba, Hartley C. White, Weed, Khaira Arby

@@@ Jack Garratt: Synesthesiac (Interscope, 2015).  An r&b/electropop mash that I found on the highlights page on my Beats store.  In the first tune, I also hear some dub and ambient electronic vibes.  I’m a little shocked this is out on a major label, it has nutritional value.  He comes in later with some lover boy falsetto r&b vocals and overall I would give this a solid B.

@@@ Mattias Aguayo: El Rudo Del House Round 2 (Comeme, 2015).  Some Latin (Argentine, I DuckDucked him) house music from the Beats highlights page.  He uses a lot of vocal samples in Spanish with simple but effective funky club beats.  More sophisticated than your standard boom titch.

@@@ Monophonics: Sound of Sinning (Transistor Sound, 2015).  I saw this record on the Beats highlights page.  Before I head over to the DuckDuckGo I’m going to lay five bucks says these guys are from the British Isles area.  Okay, here we go.  I’m wrong they’re from the San Francisco, I could not distinguish between the British quirk and the hippie psych.  They have good energy with some of those psych sounds that the kids are really grooving on these days.  Tremolo guitar, a late ’60s bass sound that is more melodic, and a generous heaping of reverb on the singer’s voice.  I really like the drum sound on this record, and I like it when they’re mashing the psychedelic stuff with the old school r&b, but when they move more directly into the soul area I lost interest.  That other combination of sounds I find much more compelling for me, but check it out for yourself, they’re a really good band.

@@@ Low Volts: Roam With You (Not sure, 2015).  A blues track I got to via a music publicist email.  It’s a live track with very high guitar and vocals low in the music.  I like the guitar tone, but it’s a bit of a wank.

Leave a Reply

