Active Music Listening Wednesday April 15, 2015

YTD recordings listened to: 282
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 168
Not good music: 94

Honorable Mentions: 9
Buys: 5

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Dave Arner Trio, Bill Horist, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, About Group, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Debruit, Slidhr, The Whammies, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, Spacesuits, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mohammed Abozekry, Dawn Richard, Torche, Leo Welch, Astral Swans, Mastery, Leviathan, Lightning Bolt, Xibalba, Hartley C. White, Weed, Khaira Arby

@@@ KHAIRA ARBY: Timbuktu Tarab (Popcornlab, 2010).  I saw the new record by this outfit listed on the WRIR weekly email, but this older disc is up on my Beats store and it’s pretty ripping.  I’m gonna Google these guys while there is still a Google as they just got busted for anti-competitive practices by the European Union.  Fuck you motherfuckers, I hope they rip you a new one.  Okay, the female singer is from the Saharan city of Timbuktu so North African was what I thought when I heard them first kick it.  Did I mention that I’m psyched Google is gonna get a fat fine for being assholes?  I like this first tune for the following reasons:  the singer is powerful, the violin playing really adds a dimension to the record, they feature a kit drummer instead of the hand drummers in Tinariwen, and I dig how they put together the swirling guitar tracks on the record.  As Tinariwen has started to sing in English and has softened themselves up for the white devil music market, I would recommend folks move over and check out this record and this band, they are bringin’ it.  I’m gonna roll back on this record.  Don’t send me any hate mail, I was born white but I’ve defected so I get to call white people the devil.

@@@  Dead Flowers: Anyone But Me (Not sure, 2015).  A schmattering of punk, a little Motorhead, a little fried desert rock.  The drummer is catching my ear the most, the guitar player(s) need a bit more peyote and the singer is all right.  Oh, at about 3 minutes the guitar player woke up and popped a shred — okay I give props.

@@@ Cosmo Sheldrake: Pelicans We (Transgressive, 2015).  Some British parlor music swirled up with some orchestral business and a couple of heaping tablespoons of indie.  They’re singing about something nonsensical which is far more preferable than trying to sing about something emotional but in a totally cliche manner.  It’s not nonsense, it’s a tune from the point of a pelican living in Egypt.

https://soundcloud.com/cosmosheldrake/pelicans-we

@@@ Pearls: Pretend You’re Mine (Dot Dash, 2015).  A choice recycling of T. Rex’s classic drum beat but overlaid with a sultry singer, some ’80s synth threads, and handclaps.  I read the detachment of the vocalists as cool.

 

 

Leave a Reply

