Active Music Listening Thursday February 26, 2015

YTD recordings listened to: 159
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 93
Not good music: 54

Honorable Mentions: 7
Buys: 5

Possibles: Boyd Rivers, Chris McGregor, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Dave Arner Trio, Bill Horist, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, About Group, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Debruit, Slidhr, The Whammies, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Cheryl Pyle, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, Spacesuits, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mohammed Abozekry, Dawn Richard, Torche

@@@ Torche: Restarter (Relapse, 2015).  I’m a pretty often spinner of Torche’s Harmonicraft and I usually find the follow ups or my hopes of follow up golden goodness don’t pan out.  These guys do a pretty unique thing, they make catchy, heavy music without hollowing out the muscle.  They’re not the toughest band on the planet, but they bring it pretty good.   Thus far, this first tune is raising my blood pressure in a positive manner.  Big, buzzy wall of sludgy guitars, big caveman drums, and a Perry Farrell faded singer.  My initial impression is that I don’t feel it quite as much as Harmonicraft but I’m gonna check it again as the middle part was starting to hit pretty hard and I was distracted cuz I’m busy and I blog for free so I spaced a bit.  I’ve clipped my favorite tune of this first listen, it’s pretty bammin’.  That’s right, bammin’.

http://youtu.be/baCPf7W8fgc

@@@ Kid Rock: First Kiss (Warner Bros, 2015)  Let’s give a sniff to Kid Rock’s fresh droppings.  Woof, I had no idea Kid Rock was such a pussy.  God, I’d rather listen to dogs fornicate.  He sounds a little new country, a little mainstream rock ala fellow Detroiter Bob Seger, and I think the best part of this record ran down his mama’s leg.

http://youtu.be/WTCnno-3EGE

@@@ On and On: Drifting (Roll Call, 2015).  I’m not sure of the wisdom of naming a band On and On.  As in the songs go…..  This is one of those indie space folk kinda ditties.  A white dude with a beard all alone singing tenderly with his arpeggiated guitar figures to keep him company in his loneliness.  We’re getting a schmear of those electronic warbles those kids today really love, and he’s a nice white boy, he’s not pissed off he’s buttery.  A little My Morning Jacket-y without a drummer and a little Damien Rice-y.  Here comes the crescendo and it’s worthy of NPR listeners.

@@@ WIN WIN: Couch Paranoia (Arts & Crafts, 2015).  A psych/electronic tune I got to via a music publicist.  A bit of Flaming Lips without guitars but with plenty of warbles and mashed up vocalities.  All of this goodness sits on a drum machine cracker or a cracker operating a drum machine.  Probably both.  Lots of synth, phased vocals, bass, twirbles and big vocal harmonies.  Dig?

Leave a Reply

