Active Music Listening Monday January 26, 2015

YTD recordings listened to: 70
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 39
Not good music: 23

Honorable Mentions: 6
Buys: 3

Possibles: Boyd Rivers, Chris McGregor, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Dave Arner Trio, Bill Horist, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, About Group, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Debruit, Slidhr, The Whammies, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Cheryl Pyle, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Bio Ritmo, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, Coffinworm, Spacesuits, T.O.M.B., Sons of Huns, Fofoulah, Lozen

@@@ Dengue Fever: Little Drummer Boy (Tuk Tuk, 2014).  A cover in Cambodian of the Christmas dittie Little Drummer Boy.  Heavy on the funk, medium heavy on the weirdness.  The Beats store blurb says something about these guys forming in L.A. so that explains the choice of an American Christmas tune.  I just watched a documentary about Cambodia during the time of Pol Pot.  It was called The Missing Picture and it had some pretty funky weird music in it.  Folks should really see that flick it’s awesome, it’s very difficult to explain it in words.  It was made by a work camp survivor and he salvaged black and white footage from one of Pol Pot’s official videographers and he mixes that with claymation figures and his personal recollection.  I like this tune but it’s hard to get excited about the Little Drummer Boy and I don’t have access to their latest album which I saw on WRIR’s weekly playlist email.  Check the flick out!!!

@@@ E.N Young: Live Love Stay Up (Roots Musician Group, 2015).  Some roots reggae I saw listed on WRIR’s weekly email.  This is a very lush recording with a full horn section and a lyrical focus on positivity and rising up.  I’ve heard two singers thus far, oh I’m wrong he’s got guest singers.  This is quite a luxurious headphone listen.  He gets all loverboy on the third tune Be Back Real Soon.  I preferred the most recent Faianatur record that I also found via the WRIR weekly email and I thought the singer on the album did a great job.

@@@ Dry the River: Rollerskate (Transgressive Records, 2015).  The most notable thing about this tune is the singer’s highbrow tone.  He’s mad refined and he sings within a pretty standard guitar indie arrangement.  He’s not quite as fragile as Antony from Antony and the Johnsons, whose freakiness on the mic I totally respect.  Yeah, that’s right I know my indie shit, CMJ/Pitchfork assholes.  Oh they get super choir-tastic on the outro — well, they appear to be from the UK and they are surely bringing the drama on this tune.  I got to this via a music publicist.

@@@ Alex Winston: Careless (300 Entertainment, 2015).  Oh my, if you are in the mood for some super breathy female singing and an emotionally overwrought tune a la Kate Bush or Tori Amos, this tune will hook you up in spades.  Super stacked vocals, meaningful resonant piano chords and a monster shopping mall hook in the chorus.  Give it to me, I’m down on the floor.  Oh my, she might be really horny and dramatical, I wouldn’t want to presume.

Leave a Reply

