Active Music Listening Thursday January 1, 2015

YTD recordings listened to: 3
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 2
Not good music: 1

Honorable Mentions: 0
Buys: 0

Possibles: Boyd Rivers, Chris McGregor, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Dave Arner Trio, Bill Horist, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, About Group, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Kendl Winter, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Debruit, Slidhr, The Whammies, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Cheryl Pyle, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Bio Ritmo, Lenguas Largas, Khun Narin, Doug Seegers, The Coral, Simo Lagnawi, Hush Point, Coffinworm, Akele Wube, Spacesuits, T.O.M.B., Paul Giallorenzo’s Git Go

Happy New Year people.  I certainly hope all enjoyed the review yesterday — it takes a lot of bravery to stand in front of the cultural freight train that is the money and might called Taylor Swift.  I’m just too stupid to pass on the option of selling the sausage that has been chosen as the best sausage for you.

@@@  Echologist: Storming Heaven (Prologue, 2014).  January is a great month to do more best of 2013 listening as it’s not chock full of new releases and there’s a plethora of best of lists due to the awesomeness of the intertoobz.  Lot’s of percussive metal springs on the opener here — an electro fantastic way to start out 2015.  Have any young black males been shot yet this year?  In an effort to boost my positivity this year, I will be attempting to be more upbeat in my reviews.  Maybe this will garner me the fame and fortune I so hotly desire.  One might think I’m talking about myself because the music isn’t very compelling but you would be wrong!.  This second tune is still a bit schproingy with some sparkle and tinkle added in.  Abstract booty music.  I’m going to politely move on.

@@@ Black Rain: Dark Pool (Blackest Black Ever, 2014).  Also off the Aquarius Records’ best of 2014.  This one is hitting’ me like a New Age, post apocalyptic science fiction electronic sort of thang.   Some somber elfin female singing action on this second tune, Profusion.  I’m not embracing its epicness,unfortunately.  I’m an individual of filed down dreams.  The sonic fog and mist is rolling in on this third track, Watering Hole.  It sounds like the watering hole in a very mystical, dark Lord of the Rings sorta place.  Machine dreams, hobbit dreams.

@@@ Damaged Bug: Hubba Bubba (Castle Face, 2014).  This will be my final listen on this glorious first day of 2015.  Opens up oscillating old school synth and strummed medium crunchy guitars.  Toy drum set sound and a downer boy with swollen lips.  Perk up sad boy, you’re killing me over here.  Oh, he’s into the intravenous lyrics on this second tune Rope Burn — this overly sedated flow is not a big hit with me.  I don’t the Taylor Swift pop injection back orifice style, but this is a bit sleepy time tea for me.  Perk up sad boy, those junkie 1980 synth rock ‘n roll dreams are horses hit.  Auto correct won’t let me type horseshit.  Ah, there we go.

Leave a Reply

