Active Music Listening Thursday September 25, 2014

YTD recordings listened to: 760
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 472
Not good music: 237

Honorable Mentions: 9
Buys: 13

Possibles: Boyd Rivers, Chris McGregor, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Dave Arner Trio, Bill Horist, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, About Group, Fat Freddy’s Drop, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Kendl Winter, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee,  The Ballantynes, Debruit and Aljawal, Slidhr, The Whammies, The Chewers, La Misa Negra, Alexander Hawkins, Cheryl Pyle,  Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Eccodek, Bio Ritmo, Pacifika, Lenguas Largas, Vessel. Earls of Leicester, Khun Narin, Orlando Julius

@@@ Menace Ruine: Alight in Ashes (Profound Lore, 2014).  A Husker Du like blast of guitar amp static opens up this record – then comes a stiff upper lip singer with some vocal training.  This first tune, Set Water to Flames is not at all like Adele’s Setting Fire to the Rain so don’t get confused.  I wish this tune was going somewhere so I’m going to skip to the next track.  The second tune, Salamandra, comes on with a mid range-y lizard-y/sitar-esque guitar tone.  I fear I’m not smart enough for this music.  I just like a good ol’ fashioned heavy music beatdown.  This is more for you Lord Byron types.

@@@ Bleeding Fist: Death’s Old Stench (Moribund, 2014).  I’m hopeful that a band called Bleeding Fist will deliver the sort of beating I could use.  The drummer is up to the task with a pretty nasty fwacka-thwacka (not to be confused with exotic hottie FKA Twigs!).  I like the second tune, Brotherhood of Chaos and Death, better but it’s still not quite what I’m looking for.  Nice barbed wire guitar but the singer is a bit too Halloween dramatical for my taste.

@@@ Wormreich: Wormcult Revelations (Moribund, 2014).  Well, a band called Wormreich with the Great Horned One on the cover should be able to deliver the abuse I so desperately seek.  And jackpot!!!  Big (car) washes of power chords, some full tribal toms and there’s a midtempo snare thrash.  Looks like that first tune, Vox in Rama, was just an appetizer as the clenched fist main course comes on full fucking blast on the second tune, Revelations II: Serpents of Choronzon.  It’s hard to understand why a band would be so upset about chorizo, it’s just sausage.  Oh Choronzon, which is either a made up word or a typo or a demon from a video game.  Oh well, lyrics be damned, this is some shit to adjust one’s attitude to.

@@@ Orlando Julius: Jaiyede Afro (Strut, 2014).  Off a WRIR weekly review email.  I saw the words afro pop mentioned in the blurb, but I’m surprised to hear this music hit harder than expected.  Being from Nigeria it sports a strong Fela influence without copying it.  There’s some good juke goin on here – funky guitar, horn baps and a thick bed of drums and percussion underneath.  Regular readers of this blog know that I’m a bit prejudiced against the macho horn work of a lot of Afrobeat, but these guys have a much higher funk factor than a lot of Afrobeat outfits.  Big shout out to the guitar player, you go my man.

@@@ Kenny Wheeler: What Now? (Cam Jazz, 2006).  I saw on the London Jazz blog that trumpeter/flugelhornist passed away last week, so I thought would check out one of his releases.  I picked this one because I like Dave Holland’s bass playing, if not his recent fusion record.   This is some two horn/piano/bass/drums straight jazz.  I find myself listening to the piano player more and the sax player less.  I dig the melody on the third tune, One Two Three, and the bass intro solo on the fourth tune, March Mist.

 

Leave a Reply

