Active Music Listening Friday September 5, 2014

YTD recordings listened to: 696
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 433
Not good music: 211

Honorable Mentions: 8
Buys: 12

Possibles: Boyd Rivers, Chris McGregor, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Dave Arner Trio, Bill Horist, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, About Group, Jello Biafra, Fat Freddy’s Drop, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Kendl Winter, Bone Dance, Defeater, Sidi Toure, Lindi Ortega, Jonwayne, Christian Kjellvander, Okkyung Lee,  The Ballantynes, Debruit and Aljawal, Slidhr, The Whammies, The Chewers, La Misa Negra, Alexander Hawkins, Cheryl Pyle,  Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Third Coast Kings, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Eccodek, Bio Ritmo, Pacifika, Kasai All Stars, Viet Cong, Lenguas Largas, Ruthie Foster

 

@@@ Leyland Kirby Presents V/Vm – The Death Of Rave (A Partial Flashback)
(History Always Favours The Winners, 2014).  Off the big ass Quietus list that I’ve been chewing through.  I expected something a bit more dance oriented upon seeing the word rave, but hells no here is some aggro-chopped electronic noise.  That starts getting mixed with swirling metallic twinkly and back to the chopped up static WITH the twinkly.  This is no pleasure cruise, I tell you people, but I’m gonna hang.  I like this second tune, Moggy and Wearden — more vibrating rather than chopped.  Still working in the metallic sound neighborhood, some nice whooshes and some swirling.  I get the title now, it’s not the music after the death of rave, it’s a sonic depiction of the death of rave.  Poor rave’s death is a bit of a rough ride after a big party.

@@@ Les Ambassadeurs: Les Ambassadeurs du Motel De Bamako Vol. 1 (Stern’s, 2014).  A reissue from the mid to late 1970’s of a premiere West African band, Les Ambassadeurs.  You get to hear Saleif Keita before he goes full African pop, and man it’s pretty righteous African music.  When I first read the description on the WRIR weekly review email I thought instantly this would be one of my favorite records of the year, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would.  Maybe I had an upset stomach or I was lodged on a crooked cosmic ray — I’ll check my view again, but that was my first impression.

@@@ Pallbearer: Foundations of Burden (Profound Lore, 2014).  I’ve checked out these guys before and they almost made one of my lists.  I saw this record listed on the Aquarius Records weekly email and they made it a record of the week, which doesn’t necessarily work for me as I haven’t found tons of records via those guys, but it’s worth peeping their records of the week.  To my ears this is more of a hard rock record a la an old school Black Sabbath record rather than a super crushing modern metal record.  You can understand the singer and he’s singing, which isn’t super common in metal these days.  Oh, there’s a pretty epic jam section in this first tune, Worlds Apart.  The vibe is slow but not stony, dark but not doomy like the grave.  More of a bummer than the eternal silence of death, you dig?  Very tasty guitar tones, that’s hard to do.  Epic monster jams here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

