Active Music Listening Saturday October 27, 2012

YTD recordings listened to: 790
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 463
Not good music: 284
Buys: 26 (not all 2012 releases)
Possibles: Zani Diabate, Isaiah Toothtaker (2011), Ondatropica, Sidsel Endresen & Stan Westerhus, The Ones to Blame, Boyd Rivers, Abdoulaye Alhassane Toure, Cryptopsy, Nick Waterhouse, Patterson Hood, Wahid, Wadada Leo Smith ‘Ten Freedom Summers’, Skyzoo, Pig Destroyer, Bettye Lavette, Philippe Petite, Paul Giallorenzo, Chris McGregor, Brother Ali (2009)

@@@ Kariem Riggins: Alone Together (Stones Throw, 2012).  I got to this record after seeing a write up here at the Quietus.  It’s an instrumental hip hop record and Riggins is the jazz trained drummer driving the bus.  I’m a total hip hop square, but they mix him like he’s a drum machine — they don’t give his playing a real live drum room sound.  The arrangements are good, but I was hoping for some drum shredding to go with the arrangements.

@@@ Sky Ferreira: Ghost EP (Capitol, 2012).  A surprisingly restrained piece of singer songwriter pop from a major label.  No orgasm breathing, just a band with a woman out front singing.  Oh wait, I’m fucked.  The first tune was a slow tune with instruments and then the second tune ‘Lost in My Bedroom’ brings the breathy singing and the electro pop.  I feel so all alone in my bedroom with my breathy breating hiding under my blanket made out of electro pop fatigue.  I need a hug and a break from the market tested formulas for shifting musical units.

@@@ Bat for Lashes: Haunted Man (EMI UK, 2012)  This MOG front page release opens up with a wispy female voice over a tiny guitar.  Dramatic.  And here comes the synthesizers and the beats.  Oh, the beats.  I’m starting to wonder if there is a tidal wave of this music happening right now as it’s relatively cheap to produce compared to a traditional band release, or whether folks are lapping this music.  In my blog travels, from hipster to Main Street, I don’t see a ton of ebullience for it.  Think Tori Amos without the piano.   This record does have drums and other instruments in addition to the electronics and these are songs with changes and flow.  I would put this in the ambient New Age pop rock category as it has elements of all those genres hot glued together.

Leave a Reply

