5/26/16: Owen, Bea Miller, Wired Minds, Pantha Du Prince

@@@ Owen: Lost (Polyvinyl, 2016)  The lead single off an upcoming full length that I got to via a music publicist email.  The lyrics are medium graphic with whores and drugs making appearances, but the music is super indie comfort style — strummed acoustic guitar, engaging vocals.  I dig the upright bass and it blooms orchestral for the last 30-45 seconds.  Acoustic indie folk roots is a bit of a tough listen for me as I’m dead inside but if you’re just gushing with feelings and want to share with this guy, check him out.

@@@ Bea Miller: yes girl (Hollywood, 2016)  A single off the Apple Music front page.  It’s an epic slow burner as Ms. Miller is not gonna be his ‘yes girl’.  Female power, yes!  I’m with you but the sounds are cheesy with lots of reverb on the vocals, over singing, a low IQ beat.  So if you want yer girl power floating in a bowl of sonic cheese then this is gonna hook you up big time.  Just let her go, dude, she’s not gonna be your yes girl.

@@@ Wired Minds: Saudade (Self-released, 2016).  Some quasi-urgent ’80s guitar rock that I got to via a music publicist email.  Gated snare sound and danceable beats, lots of U2-Edge sounding guitar washes and a singer that’s not Bono.  Thank god.  Even a synth tucked back in the mix in the chorus.  The second tune brings the synth appetizer before another dose of guitar wash.  If you’re up for the big ’80s rock check these guys out.

@@@ Pantha du Prince: The Triad (Rough Trade, 2016).  I put Pantha du Prince’s 2013 record Elements of Light on my best of list for that year so I saw this record on the All Music weekly email and headed on over for a listen.  This first tune packs a tad more New Age wallop than I would care to have.  It has that dreamy female voice and lots of synth tinkle and it’s just a tad elvish to me.  I do like the bass sound and Mr. Prince has a pretty stylish arranging skills.  I’m on the fourth tune and it’s remained pretty much the same.  Very high quality sounds, nice arrangments but a tad too cheesy and New Age for my taste.  I like some tension in my music.  Some light and some darkness, some prettiness and some crunch.  Making pretty music isn’t very challenging, make pretty music with tension and contrast, that’s the shit right there.  As far as I’m concerned, if you like this style of music, enjoy it, just not near me.

YTD recordings listened to: 462
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 257
Not good music: 171

Honorable Mentions: 8
Buys: 9

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, MAKU Soundsystem, Zomby, Retox, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Bone Dance, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Alexander Hawkins, Toxic Holocaust, Equal Stones, Comeback Kid, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Dawn Richard, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Akitsa, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Divanhana, Unrestrained, Moken, Cha Wa, Systema Solar, Brian Eno, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, The Lickshots, Twin Peaks

Leave a comment